Jul 11, 2023

TIA Board Elects Devens, Trum Officers; Long-time Treasurer Wolfe to Step Down

The Tire Industry Association (TIA) elected two current board members to its Executive Committee during its recent Mid-year Board Meeting.

Russ Devens, of McCarthy Tire Service, who has chaired TIA’s Training & Education Committee since 2020, was voted in as secretary, while TJ Trum, of Pomp’s Tire Service Inc. and chair of the association’s Government Affairs Committee, was elected treasurer. Trum will replace TIA Treasurer Mike Wolfe of Southeastern Wholesale Tire, who is stepping down this fall after 14 years on the board, including seven as treasurer.

The new TIA officers will officially begin their terms Oct. 30 during the TIA board meeting in Las Vegas prior to the opening of the 2023 Global Tire Expo/SEMA Show.

A TIA board member for the past five years, Devens works as director of safety and risk management at McCarthy Tire. His election as TIA secretary places him in line to become the association’s president in 2026-2027. Trum, Pomp’s Tire’s general counsel, joined the board in 2019 and was re-elected to a second three-year term in 2022.

Along with chairing TIA’s Training and Education Committee, Devens serves the association as a member of the Membership, Nominating and Strategic Planning committees as well as Electric Vehicle Advisory Council. He has more than 30 years of experience in safety, law enforcement, security, insurance and risk management, is a Level-400 Commercial Tire Service TIA instructor, a Part 48 Certified and Part 46 Instructor with the Mine Safety & Health Administration (MSHA), is 30-hour General Industry Certified with OSHA and is a Certified Commercial Vehicle Inspector with U.S. DOT. In addition, he is co-founder of the Tire Industry Safety Leadership Summit.

Commenting on his upcoming role, Devens thanked the TIA board and membership for the opportunity to serve as association secretary. “I look forward to continuing the focus of training and safety within the tire industry,” he said.

Trum also serves on TIA’s Strategic Planning and Training & Education committees and leads the association’s support of Trucker’s Against Trafficking. In addition to TIA’s Government Affairs Committee, Trum also chairs the American Commercial Tire Network (ACTN) Human Resources and Safety Committee, is a licensed legal counsel and is a certified senior professional in human resources by the Society for Human Resource Management (SHRM-SCP).

“I appreciate and am humbled by those in the industry that have entrusted me to assist the Tire Industry Association in this new role,” Trum said. “Having participated as an active member of the board for several years now, I’m regularly inspired by the great work being performed by the staff and teammates of the TIA. I look forward to contributing towards and investing in the continued advocacy and training efforts by TIA in the exciting years to come.”

Trum will replace long-time treasurer Wolfe, who became a TIA director in 2007 filling a vacated board seat. Wolfe was then re-elected to successive three-year terms in 2009 and 2012 and became treasurer and a member of the Executive Committee in 2014. During his time on the board, Wolfe chaired the Strategic Planning Committee in 2017 and 2018 and the Hall of Fame Committee in 2022 and 2023.

TIA Chief Operating Officer Sandra Martinez, who has worked closely with Wolfe for the past nine years, called him a tremendous asset to the association. “He helped guide TIA through some challenging times and worked to build a strong foundation for the association,” she said. “I greatly admire and respect Mike’s calm and pragmatic approach and his unwavering commitment to the advancement of the association and our industry.”

TIA CEO Richard “Dick” Gust also hailed Wolfe’s contributions and the election of Devens and Trum to the executive committee. “The association is blessed to have such talented and dedicated individuals on the board,” he said. “As the tire and automotive world evolves, we rely on the guidance of our board in meeting new challenges. We look forward to Russ’s and TJ’s leadership efforts and thank those of Mike Wolfe, who has been a strong advocate and supporter of TIA during his many years on the board and executive committee.”

Source: TIA

Tire and Rubber Association of Canada

5409 Eglinton Ave W, Suite 208
Etobicoke, ON M9C 5K6