Mar 23, 2022

GM Honors Top Global Suppliers with 30th Annual Supplier of the Year Awards

General Motors celebrated its top global suppliers this week at its 30th annual Supplier of the Year awards ceremony held in Phoenix, Arizona. Recipients of the Supplier of the Year recognition included 134 suppliers representing 16 countries. Additionally, 31 suppliers from 12 countries earned GM’s Overdrive Award.

The Supplier of the Year award recognizes distinguished global suppliers that exceed GM’s requirements, in turn providing GM customers with innovative technologies and among the highest quality in the automotive industry.

First presented in 2012, the Overdrive Award is a distinction reserved for suppliers who display outstanding achievement across the Global Purchasing and Supply Chain organization’s key priorities. They include sustainability, innovation, relationships, total enterprise cost, launch excellence and safety.

“This year’s Supplier of the Year event was special not only because it’s the 30th anniversary of the program, but because it provided us with the opportunity to recognize our suppliers for persevering through one of the most challenging years the industry has ever faced,” said Shilpan Amin, GM vice president, Global Purchasing and Supply Chain. “These top suppliers showed resilience and reinforced their commitment to pursuing sustainability and innovation. Through our strong relationships and collaboration, GM and our suppliers are poised to build a brighter future for generations to come.”

The honorees for 2021 include nine certified diverse suppliers recognized as a Supplier of the Year. GM was the first automotive OEM to establish a supplier diversity program in 1968.  Over the past five years, GM has spent more than $17 billion and contributed to many community initiatives in collaboration with diverse suppliers. GM strives to achieve equitable and sustainable supply chain inclusion goals to help establish long-term viability for our diverse supply base.

The Supplier of the Year and Overdrive Award winners were selected by a global cross functional team based on performance criteria in Product Purchasing, Global Purchasing and Manufacturing Services, Customer Care and Aftersales and Logistics.

GM’s 2021 Supplier of the Year award winners are:

Adient First Brands Group Brake & Filtration Mobis
Adobe Flex-N-Gate Moon Star Express LLC
Advanced Composites F-TECH INC. Morley
Allegis Global Solutions Gentex Corporation NEMAK
Alps Alpine Co., Ltd. Hyundai Glovis Co., LTD. Nexteer Automotive
Aptiv Connection Systems GNS NA Nidec Mobility
aThingz The Goodyear Tire & Rubber Company NIPPON SEIKI NORTH AMERICA
Hankook & Company ES America Corp GP Strategies Komatsu NTC Ltd.
Attentive Industries, Inc. Hankook Tire and Technology Nucor
Bocar Group Hanon Systems NYX LLC
Automatic Systems, Inc. HELLA GmbH & Co. KGaA Pierburg
Autotech Consulting Group Henniges Automotive Precision
Axalta Coating Systems HIROTEC MEXICO Rassini
BADER Leather Group Guangdong Hongtu Technology (Holdings) Co., Ltd. Ryder System, Inc.
Barton Malow Ideal Contracting LLC Ryobi Die Casting
MOURA BATTERIES ILJIN Global Seil Intech Co., Ltd.
BCS-AIS ITW Fasteners Sundram Fasteners Limited, Powertrain Components
Belcan, LLC Jack Cooper Transport Shannon Precision Fastener
Bridgestone Corporation Jack Morton Worldwide Shape Corp.
Brose JATCO Ltd. SHB
CEVA Logistics JPC Automotive Co., Ltd. SKF
CHUNIL Cargo Transportation Co., Ltd. KATCON GLOBAL SL Corporation
Chunil Engineering Co., Ltd. Kautex Textron MOTHERSON
Cisco Systems, Inc. KCC GLASS Sogefi Group
CITIC Dicastal Kem Krest Spartan Light Metal Products
Cleveland-Cliffs Inc. Kawasaki Kisen Kaisha, Ltd. Spiers New Technologies
COAVIS KM&I Co., Ltd. Summit Polymers, Inc.
Conduent KOSTAL Automobil Elektrik Sungwoo Hitech Co.,Ltd
Cooper Standard KUKA Systems North America TENNECO POWERTRAIN
Creative Techniques, Inc. KWANGJIN Tianhai Electric North America
Czarnowski Collective L&L Products Veoneer
DAEYONG INDUSTRY CO. Labelmaster Vuteq Corporation
DAEWON KANG UP CO., LTD Lear Corporation Walbridge
Day & Ross Lizhong Wheel Manufacturing Bethel Automotive Safety Systems Co., Ltd.
DSV Air & Sea Inc. Magna International Weber Shandwick
DTR Automotive Corporation Mando America WestRock
DY AUTO Corporation Mapbox Inc. Wooshin Safety Systems Co., Ltd.
Dynamic Manufacturing, Inc. MAXXIS TIRES Worthington Industries
Eaton Corporation McCann Detroit XPO Logistics Managed Transportation
ExxonMobil Fuels and Lubricants Mitsubishi Electric Corporation Yazaki North America
FANUC CORPORATION Michelin North America Yeaton Research
FedEx Corporation MNP Corporation  


GM’s 2021 Overdrive Award winners are:

Allegis Global Solutions Faurecia Clean Mobility Nucor
American Axle & Manufacturing GALLAGHER-KAISER CORPORATION Rassini
Aspen Aerogels Jack Morton Worldwide Renesas Electronics Corporation
BADER Leather Group Labelmaster Sansera Engineering Limited
CarUX Technology PTE. LTD. LG Electronics Spiers New Technologies
Chunil Engineering Co., Ltd. Magna International Walbridge
Dana Incorporated Martin Retail Group Yeaton Research
CARAT Minth Group Limited  
ExxonMobil Fuels and Lubricants NGK Automotive Ceramics USA Inc.  

Source: General Motors

Tire and Rubber Association of Canada

5409 Eglinton Ave W, Suite 208
Etobicoke, ON M9C 5K6